Next Collective – Next Collective EP


New project by NEXT Collective, an ensemble recording by the next generation of jazz greats exploring their own interpretations of songs by such contemporary artists as Bon Iver, N.E.R.D, Little Dragon and more.

The ensemble is comprised of saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams, and special guest trumpeter Christian Scott (aka Christian aTunde Adjuah). NEXT Collective represents the new wave of highly skilled improvisers, melodists, and arrangers and who are closely connected as colleagues and as friends.

Concord Jazz, a division of Concord Music Group, released three of the tracks exclusively on iTunes which included Jay Z and Kanye West’s “No Church In the Wild,” D’Angelo’s “Africa,” and Pearl Jam’s “Oceans.” as a sneak peak of the full album called “Cover Art” and currently scheduled for February 23th 2013.

Personnel: Logan Richardson – alto saxophone (“Africa”); Walter Smith III – tenor saxophone (“Africa” & “Oceans”); Matthew Stevens – guitars; Gerald Clayton – piano, Rhodes (“Africa”); Ben Williams – bass; Jamire Williams – drums With special guest Christian Scott – trumpet (“No Church In The Wild” & “Oceans”)

listen to “Africa” here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *