everybodydigs#3 Eric Dolphy – Conversations


everybodydigs# is a series of posts about Jazz, Funk, Soul & R’n’b albums released from the 20s to the 90s, you can read a brief description/review and listen to a small preview (when it’s possible). everybodydigs# is like when someone tells you “hey you should listen to this album!” and nothing less, enjoy!

In 1963 (probably July, though some sources place the dates in May or June), Eric Dolphy recorded some sessions in New York with producer Alan Douglas, the fruits of which were issued on small labels as the LPs Conversations and Iron Man. They’ve been reissued a number of times on various labels, occasionally compiled together, but never with quite the treatment they deserve (which is perhaps why they’re not as celebrated as they should be). In whatever form, though, it’s classic, essential Dolphy that stands as some of his finest work past Out to Lunch. Conversations is the more eclectic of the two, featuring radical re-imaginings of three standards, plus the jubilant, Caribbean-flavored “Music Matador” (by ensemble members Prince Lasha on flute and Sonny Simmons on alto). That cut, and a classic inside/outside reworking of Fats Waller’s “Jitterbug Waltz” feature Dolphy leading ensembles of up-and-coming “new thing” players, which prominently feature vibist Bobby Hutcherson and trumpeter Woody Shaw. The second half of the album takes a far more minimalist approach, with Dolphy performing unaccompanied (extremely rare prior to Anthony Braxton’s For Alto) on “Love Me.” “Alone Together” is an over-13-minute duet between Dolphy and bassist Richard Davis, featuring some astoundingly telepathic exchanges that more than justify its length. Even if the selections don’t completely hang together as an LP statement, they’re united by Dolphy’s generally brilliant playing and a sense that — after several years without entering the studio much as a leader — Dolphy was really striving to push his (and others’) music forward. The results are richly rewarding, making Conversations one of the landmarks in his catalog. (allmusic)

Personnel: Eric Dolphy (flute, clarinet); Bobby Hutcherson (harp); Sonny Simmons (alto saxophone); Clifford Jordan (soprano saxophone); Woody Shaw (trumpet); Eddie Kahn, Richard Davis (bass); Prince Lasha (flute); Charles Moffet, J.C. Moses (drums).

Rappamelo’s favorite track:

Next Collective – Next Collective EP


New project by NEXT Collective, an ensemble recording by the next generation of jazz greats exploring their own interpretations of songs by such contemporary artists as Bon Iver, N.E.R.D, Little Dragon and more.

The ensemble is comprised of saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams, and special guest trumpeter Christian Scott (aka Christian aTunde Adjuah). NEXT Collective represents the new wave of highly skilled improvisers, melodists, and arrangers and who are closely connected as colleagues and as friends.

Concord Jazz, a division of Concord Music Group, released three of the tracks exclusively on iTunes which included Jay Z and Kanye West’s “No Church In the Wild,” D’Angelo’s “Africa,” and Pearl Jam’s “Oceans.” as a sneak peak of the full album called “Cover Art” and currently scheduled for February 23th 2013.

Personnel: Logan Richardson – alto saxophone (“Africa”); Walter Smith III – tenor saxophone (“Africa” & “Oceans”); Matthew Stevens – guitars; Gerald Clayton – piano, Rhodes (“Africa”); Ben Williams – bass; Jamire Williams – drums With special guest Christian Scott – trumpet (“No Church In The Wild” & “Oceans”)

listen to “Africa” here:

Sir Froderick – The Brief Wondrous


Like previous post…. it’s been a while but i wanted to post about this.

This is “The Brief Wondrous” the new album by the philly based Sir Froderick, it was released on early October via the french label Cascade Records, it’s a little bit short but still a good album, it’s also available on a limited edition vinyl that contains an exclusive track featuring another philly artist Mndsgn, enjoy!

For more info and buy check: www.cascaderecords.fr

Full listen here:

Fid Mella – Tatas Plottn


It’s been over a month since Fid Mella‘s album came out but i hadn’t the chance to post about it, it’s called “Tatas Plottn” and it was released on October 11th on the german label Melting Pot Music,  first of all i liked the concept behind the album: “Fid Mella produced the records over the last two years in his home-town Meran. Whenever he was visiting his family, he headed straight to his father’s records collection and chopped beats on the spot. Mella’s father was a serious prog-rock head which you can easily tell when listening to this record. Nuff said. To keep all things family, Mella asked his brother Sebastian to do the artwork. Which he did.” then i liked the music, 29 tracks for a really good album, enjoy!

For more info and buy check: www.mpmsite.com

full listen here:

Seravince “U Love Ft. Renee Neufville”


i got this on my mail 2 days ago but i didn’t listened to until today… what a mistake! props to moovmnt.com

We proudly present the first official song from Seravince’s upcoming album “Hear To See”. Seravince is an exciting new project from keyboardist and composer Vincent Helbers (aka Flowriders). For the first single “U Love” Vince teams up with the lovely miss Renee Neufville (Zhane) and bad ass drummer Richard Spaven (Flying Lotus/Jose James).

The first 500 downloads are free, but in case you’d like to donate a little something you are most welcome to do so. Hear To See will be available on CD in Japan on November 21st and worldwide on December 13th (CD + digital).

RIP Austin Peralta


this is a sad news… Austin Peralta passed away last night at the age of 22, i had the chance to see him live here in Italy this summer and he was amazing…. a really great musician.

RIP Austin.

Long Arm “The Roots” (40 Winks Remix)


This is the remix of “The Roots” by the 40 Winks from the Deluxe Edition of “The Branches”. Originally released by Long Arm via Project Mooncircle in 2011  “The Branches” was already a beautiful album but right now is even better, on December 14th Project Mooncircle will drop a Deluxe Edition that will contain the original album plus various remixes by Hidden Orchestra, Dday One, 40 Winks, Robag Wruhme, Sieren, Yoko Duo, Berry Weight, Empt and Speck from CYNE.

For more info check: www.projectmooncircle.com

Listen here: